San Francisco props A and B pass; millions more for school, safety retrofits


San Francisco voters crowd a polling place Tuesday. Photo by Steve Rhodes via Flickr.

San Francisco voters approved measures to retrofit schools and emergency services facilities Tuesday in an election in which five of seven local propositions passed. 

Twenty-three percent of voters showed up at San Francisco’s 590 precincts, passing propositions A, B, D, E and F.

Proposition A, which will extend through 2030 a special property tax that was enacted in 1990, was approved by 69.9 percent of voters. The tax will provide up to $16 million per year to the San Francisco Unified School District to cover maintenance and retrofitting projects.

Proposition B, the Earthquake Safety and Emergency Response Bond, was approved by 79.2 percent of voters. The $412 million bond will allow the city to upgrade and retrofit the fire and police department buildings as well as the emergency water system.

A measure to adjust the way retirement benefits for city employees are calculated, Proposition D, was passed by 77.8 percent. It will increase retirement contributions by new public safety employees and reduced pensions for all new city workers to address future pension shortfalls. 

Proposition E, which requires the Police Department to include a line in its annual budget indicating the cost for security for city officials and visiting dignitaries, was passed by a narrow 55.4 percent.

Proposition G, which brings the terminus of the planned California high-speed rail to First and Mission streets, was passed by 83.5 percent of voters. The line will be placed at the Transbay Transit Center, which is still under construction.

Propositions C and F both failed Tuesday. Proposition C was aimed at changing the way the Film Commission is run. Proposition F attempted to address the effects of the economic downturn on renters by curbing rent increases based on an individual’s financial standing.

San Franciscans agreed with voters across California in rejecting propositions 16 and 17 while approving of Proposition 13.

Sixty-four percent of San Franciscans voted yes on Proposition 15, the campaign finance reform that would have repealed a statewide ban on public funding of political campaigns. It was rejected statewide by 57 percent of voters.

San Franciscans also rejected Proposition 14, the open-primaries plan, with 55 percent giving it a no vote. Statewide it got the green light, with 54 percent of voters approving it. 

San Franciscans agreed with statewide voters on most of the candidates for California offices. (Disagreements are in parentheses.) 

Democratic – Jerry Brown
Republican – Meg Whitman
American Independent – Chelene Nightingale
Green – Laura Wells
Libertarian – Dale F. Ogden
Peace and Freedom – Carlos Alvarez

Lieutenant Governor

Democratic – Gavin Newsom
Republican – Abel Maldonado
American Independent – Jim King
Green – James “Jimi” Castillo
Libertarian – Pamela J. Brown
Peace and Freedom – C.T. Weber 

Secretary of State

Democratic – Debra Bowen (incumbent)
Republican – Damon Dunn
American Independent – Merton D. Short
Green – Ann Menasche
Libertarian – Christina Tobin
Peace and Freedom – Marylou Cabral 


Democratic – John Chiang (incumbent)
Republican – Tony Strickland
American Independent – Lawrence Beliz
Green – Ross D. Frankel
Libertarian – Andrew “Andy” Favor
Peace and Freedom – Karen Martinez 


Democratic – Bill Lockyer (incumbent)
Republican – Mimi Walters
American Independent – Robert Lauten
Green – Charles “Kit” Crittenden
Libertarian – Edward M. Teyssier
Peace and Freedom – Debra L. Reiger 

Attorney General

Democratic – Kamala D. Harris
Republican – Steve Cooley
American Independent – Diane Beall Templin
Green – Peter Allen
Libertarian – Timothy J. Hannan
Peace and Freedom – Robert J. Evans 

Insurance Commissioner

Democratic – Dave Jones
Republican – Brian Fitzgerald (50.4 percent) (Mike Villines in SF, 54.0 percent)
American Independent – Clay Pedersen
Green – William Balderston
Libertarian – Richard S. Bronstein
Peace and Freedom – Dina Josephine Padilla 

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Larry Aceves (18.8 percent) (Tom Torlakson in SF, 36.5 percent) 


Democratic – Barbara Boxer (incumbent)
Republican – Carly Fiorina (56.5 percent) (Tom Campbell in SF, 44.3 percent)
American Independent – Edward C. Noonan
Green – Duane Roberts
Libertarian – Gail K. Lightfoot
Peace and Freedom – Marsha Feinland 

U.S. Congress, District 8

Democratic – Nancy Pelosi (incumbent)
Republican – John Dennis
Libertarian – Phillip Berg
Peace and Freedom – Gloria E. LaRiva

State Senate, District 8

Democratic – Leland Yee (incumbent)
Republican – Doo Sup Park 

State Assembly, District 12

Democratic – Fiona Ma (incumbent)
Republican – Alfonso Faustino, Jr. 

State Assembly, District 13

Democratic – Tom Ammiano (incumbent)
Republican – Laura A. Peter

Board of Equalization, District 1

Democratic – Betty T. Yee (incumbent)
Republican – Kevin R. Scott
Libertarian – Kennita Watson
Peace and Freedom – Sherill Borg 

Statewide Propositions

Yes – Propositions 13, 14
No – Propositions 15, 16, 17

In San Francisco:

Yes – Propositions 13, 15
No – Propositions 14, 16, 17

Superior Court Judge, Seat 6
Linda Colfax (52.6 percent)
Superior Court Judge, Seat 15
Michael Nava (45.5 percent)
San Francisco Propositions
Yes – A, B, D, E, G
No – C, F

Don't miss out on our newest articles, episodes and events!
Sign up for our newsletter